Founded in 1724, St. Petersburg State University is the oldest institution of higher education in Russia. During the 285 years of its existence the University secured the right to be acknowledged as one of the best institutions of higher education in Russia: its rich history, modern large-scale research activities, development and innovations make the University ahead of the curve in the field of Russian science.

At present, there are more than 32,000 students in University, receiving education in more than 323 specializations in 24 faculties. University’s staff comprises almost 14,000 people, including nearly 6,000 teachers (1000 Doctors of Science, over 2000 Candidates of Science, 42 Academicians of state academies) who represent 289 academic departments. The University has everything to enjoy studies, hobbies and research: the richest Research Library, research institutes, museums, the publishing house, the choir of students, graduates and teachers, clubs , etc.

The scientific discoveries and achievements of the University professors and alumni, seven of which are Nobel Prize winners (I.P. Pavlov, 1904, and I.I. Mechnikov, 1908, in Physiology and Medicine; N.N. Semenov, 1956, in Chemistry; L.D. Landau, 1962, and A.M. Prokhorov, 1964, in Physics; V.V. Leontyev, 1973, and L.V. Kantorovich, 1975, in Economics), contributed to the global and Russian science and technology. Many people who became famous all over the globe in various fields were the University alumni. These are world-known scientists, teachers, statesmen and public figures such as K.N. Bestuzhev-Ryumin, A.F. Koni, P.A. Stolypin, D.I. Mendeleev, V.I. Vernadsky, D.S. Likhachev and dozens of others. The University has also given to the world most renowned people of art such as I.S. Turgenev, P.A. Bryullov, A.A.Blok, A.N. Benois, V.D. Polenov, S.P. Diaghilev, M.A. Vrubel, L.N. Andreev, I.Ya. Bilibin, N.K. Roerich, I.F. Stravinsky and many others. Four heads of the Russian government were graduates of St.Petersburg University: B.V. Stürmer, A.F. Kerensky, V.I. Lenin, and V.V. Putin, as well as two Russian Presidents: V.V. Putin and D.A. Medvedev.

In November 2009, Russian President Dmitry Medvedev signed a law granting St. Petersburg State University the special status of “a unique scientific and education complex, an oldest institution of higher education in Russia being of a great importance to the development of the Russian society”. The right of giving its own diplomas with the official symbols of the Russian Federation has also been granted to University.
The Rector of St. Petersburg University is Prof. Nikolay M. Kropachev.

Find more about the University at http://www.spbu.ru